Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax

Average Customer Rating 4.4 out of 5
TurboTax is the #1-rated, best-selling tax software. All of our products make it easy to get your maximum refund-guaranteed. Chances are, you have friends who used TurboTax. See what they really think and pick the version that's best for you.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Rating (250698 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • thebeachdreamer Athens, Georgia October 19, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Excellent!

    • Step by Step Instructions
    • None

    "I filed an extension only because I was dreading doing my own taxes (and I was getting a refund)!!

    Shouldn't have waited! Turbo Tax is so simple. I finished my taxes in less than an hour ....could have been less but was chatting with my friend and having a cup of coffee while I was doing it!"

    Is this helpful?
  • SansNom Somerville, MA October 19, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    "I was prevented from efiling my state retuurn. I ended up printing the state return and filing by mail. If you've charged my Visa card the $19.95 state efiling fee you owe me a refuna Also I got no meaningful answer when I emailed yoursupport group.Perhaps contact with a live person might have helped."

    Is this helpful?
  • elchiludo6969 Austin, TX October 19, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Very user friendly

    • Mostly Everything
    • Need more form info or how to find them

    "Turbo tax is great and easy to use for the most part. There are a few topics that I'd like more info such as new home construction deductions. Only found for additions. Other than that, it was all good."

    Is this helpful?
  • weeone US October 19, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I rent my home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • pheel Wichita, KS October 18, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    "Excellent"

    Is this helpful?
  • jkeedy Austin, TX October 18, 2012
    Report as Inappropriate

    TurboTax

    • Ease of going from point to point
    • Errs in favor of IRS

    "Printing forms is a mess-can't get duplicates. I printed from same format and got 123 pages versus 15 pages - give me a break!

    In all, it's not much a save of time when one considers that I can find better tax breaks doing manually than through Turbo Tx. Further, you do not allow page capture when looking at comparisons of previous years and current year.

    I think you have become a sham for the IRS (nee Congress)

    Do you really need an image?? Geez! And if you want to do a market survey - think about doing it for other than free.

    Smiley face to you, too."

    Is this helpful?
  • halwpe Richland, WA October 18, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Foreign Tax Credit

    • Collects and combines sources
    • Too complex to use as credit

    "I was overwhelmed by the complexity of the 1116 form creation process. TurboTax wasn't able to process the necessary information to take the credit so I had to concede and use foreign taxes paid as a deduction on Schedule A."

    Is this helpful?
  • mholm Minneapolis October 18, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Turbo Tax 2011

    • navigate easily and prompts help find deductions
    • difficult to pay by credit card to file

    "---must be an easier way- to pay by credit card if you are filing directly through your account. --If you forget your password it was difficult to change quickly--and one screen was very hard to navigate."

    Is this helpful?
  • NCTaxtro October 18, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    Report as Inappropriate

    Pretty easy to use

    • ease of use, steps you thru most situations
    • Could explain some concepts a little better

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • Wulfam Hesperia, CA October 17, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    TurboTax Maniac

    • Convenient and Easy
    • Make amending menu easier for user

    "I enjoy using this software. It is a blessing. Because of Turbo Tax, it provides me the freedom and knowledge base for the average family member. I can be rest assured that behind the scenes, there is a qualified and legal team that backs me up everytime! Thanks TurboTax!!! :)"

    Is this helpful?