Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Online Basic Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Online Basic

Average Customer Rating 4.3 out of 5
TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Online Basic Rating (14797 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • Latinamerica Argentina August 02, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
    Report as Inappropriate

    Thankful for your caring support

    • Patience on the phone with me
    • The payment was accepted before my return

    "I was very concerned when my payment was accepted but my efile was rejected. I was worried that when I had to Re-file my return, that my debit card would be charged a second time. At one point, before I filed my return, a second charge appeared on my online banking account, and it even overdrew from my checkings account. I was so confused because the second charge had a different description.
    Thankfully, today when I re-opened my online banking account, the second charge had disappeared and the money was back in my account. The situation remains unclear, and I feel unsure about paying my taxes online in the future.
    I think I will continue to use Turbotax, but I will choose a different payment option."

    Is this helpful?
  • pete6 August 01, 2012
    Report as Inappropriate

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • anonymous123 July 27, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Form 6252

    • Delayed my filing

    "For some reason your online tax preparation kept populating form 6252 into my tax return, then wouldn't let me file because certain information on it wasn't filled out. And that information couldn't be filed out because I had no installment sales. I ended up in your support area looking up how to remove a form."

    Is this helpful?
  • MaheshKokkanti PA July 24, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I rent my home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    Mahesh K

    • Easy guidelines to fill the details
    • None

    "Very Good service"

    Is this helpful?
  • Phlash Houston July 15, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm living with a partner
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • Pumonca Lafayette, Indiana July 10, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm living with a partner
      • I rent my home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • Student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Bad this year

    • Quick and simple
    • FEE FEE FEE and another FEE!

    "I have used Turbo Tax for 6-7 years now, every year. This year by far was the worst experience.

    I filed a 1040EZ and it was SUPPOSED TO BE FREE but I was still charged $35.00 to do it?!

    This is why I am reviewing TurboTax so badly this year."

    Is this helpful?
  • sarah2010 June 23, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • Student
    Report as Inappropriate

    not what i expected

    • i can do it myself
    • i cannot tell when i am done and at the end

    "i did my taxes on here about four months ago i think. it keeps telling me i am finshed and should recieve my return, but i have still yet to recieve my check. so i dont know what to do. so it has been more of a headache than anything using this method for my taxes."

    Is this helpful?
  • Wellanyhow Pgh PA June 20, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    AAAHHH! Finally Filed

    • TTax was a breeze to file.
    • Response Acceptances took forever

    "The difficulty was not with Intuit...it was the Feds. Errors along the way after filing caused great concern. Is there anything we can do to remedy the glacial movement of our govt. in action? OH YEAH right.
    If Pro is the opposite of Con, then he opposite of Progress must be -___________________ [ You fill in the blank.]
    Thx mch & Enjoy your day!"

    Is this helpful?
  • robertcutis June 19, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    nothing really special

    • availability on internet
    • frustrating

    "I am very annoyed at the moment. i find you get stuck in loops where nothing seems to work no matter what changes I try to make. worked better last year"

    Is this helpful?
  • sla3 waynesburg,pa June 18, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    can't print

    • easy to use

    "I have used tt many times in the past but this year I had to pay extra because of extra stuff. I never had a problem printing my return before for free. This year I paid for it & have been trying for months to get it to print but have not succeeded yet. I think this stinks."

    Is this helpful?