Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax

Average Customer Rating 4.4 out of 5
TurboTax is the #1-rated, best-selling tax software. All of our products make it easy to get your maximum refund-guaranteed. Chances are, you have friends who used TurboTax. See what they really think and pick the version that's best for you.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Rating (250698 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • jpm100 Clarksville, IN October 17, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Foreign Tax Credit Complexity

    • Continuity from year to year
    • Form 1116 lack of support, Poor programming and directions, inability to efile!

    "Every year I have to spend more and more time just to input data and wonder why all the questions are necessary. Specifically, I have dividends from two Canadian corporations who withhold 15% tax, and therefore I file form 1119 for a credit. These dividends are both reported on a 1099 form, and we also receive two Schedule K-'s1, one for my wife and one for me, reporting dividends from Canada. We do the 1099 first, as explained in your special instructions, and then enter the respective k-1's. We get through the review process with no errors, but then when I attempt to e-file we get a message that because I checked box A (Canada or passive income) for more than one form, and due to IRS regulations, we can not e-file, but we can print and mail our returns. I do not understand this problem and believe Turbo Tax could simplify the input procedures for the foreign tax credit on form 1119 to eliminate these type of problems!"

    Is this helpful?
  • Piratemale California October 17, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • My job status changed this year
    Report as Inappropriate

    Turbo Tax: Only way to File

    • Ease of use, complete up yo date information and answers,
    • NONE!

    "Turbo Tax is the ONLY way to file. it is flawless, takes out the human error factor, and is affordable. Unlike some overpriced fat assed accountant that expects a tip turbotax is inexpensive and you need not leave home. Thanks turbotax."

    Is this helpful?
  • cryptowrh Hazard,ky October 17, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Prepared by a friend or family member
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • My job status changed this year
    Report as Inappropriate

    2011

    • easy step by step instructions
    • Hard time getting pin to e-file

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • Pulpo Santa Cruz, CA October 17, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    • Easy to use, thorough
    • No downloadable software

    "Putting all this sensitive information into the cloud makes me nervous."

    Is this helpful?
  • t60726 Des Moines, IA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    2011 Tax Return

    • Easy Steps
    • Payment of State filing

    "Appreciate the simple easy guide process."

    Is this helpful?
  • JeffDana Montgomery, AL October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Did my taxes by hand
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
      • My job status changed this year
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    Simplified a Complex (at least to me) return

    • Very straightforward and easy questions to answer!
    • None!!

    "TurboTax has really saved me a lot of time and money over the years. I have a somewhat complicated return due to a handful of rental houses, but not enough to justify (at least to me) paying a CPA a bunch of money. The $100 or so I spend on TurboTax each year is well worth - my ROI is at least 10-fold each year. Many thanks!!"

    Is this helpful?
  • MRBILL21 Oklahoma October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    • covered all the things i needed
    • problem correcting errors

    "Unable to fix error in time to file on time.
    Came back to fix errors the next day, now it worked, but a day late. Don't understand what the problem was."

    Is this helpful?
  • Dinkyboy October 16, 2012
    Report as Inappropriate

    Sharing me e-mail address

    • None
    • None

    "I was appauled that when I attempted to file last night, on the deadline, and had complicatons with my credit card. Those being resolved I completed payment today only to find out that they had closed e-filing!! Why did I even bother paying $90. Then to add insult to injury, I found 35 spam e-mails today and they could have only come from Intuit selling my e-mail address since that was the only website I've visited."

    Is this helpful?
  • mrwhitaker Helena, MT October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Love it

    • Historical feature
    • Price

    "I have a couple of small home based businesses and a rental. I don't mind business expense, but there is no place to capture the cost of filing with TurboTax...why isn't that an added feature...?

    This filing allowed me to pay for efiling - that was rejected. I would like a refund for that amount"

    Is this helpful?
  • applewest Howard City, Michigan October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Prepared by a friend or family member
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    IRS refused return

    • Like the way it cover all areas
    • in final phase difficulty

    "I was very frustrated in trying to correct one mistake so IRS could accept return to no avail. After making sure all areas were correct, still having problem getting
    E-file to work. Now im going to print and mail."

    Is this helpful?