Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax

Average Customer Rating 4.4 out of 5
TurboTax is the #1-rated, best-selling tax software. All of our products make it easy to get your maximum refund-guaranteed. Chances are, you have friends who used TurboTax. See what they really think and pick the version that's best for you.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Rating (250698 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • t60726 Des Moines, IA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    2011 Tax Return

    • Easy Steps
    • Payment of State filing

    "Appreciate the simple easy guide process."

    Is this helpful?
  • JeffDana Montgomery, AL October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Did my taxes by hand
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
      • My job status changed this year
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    Simplified a Complex (at least to me) return

    • Very straightforward and easy questions to answer!
    • None!!

    "TurboTax has really saved me a lot of time and money over the years. I have a somewhat complicated return due to a handful of rental houses, but not enough to justify (at least to me) paying a CPA a bunch of money. The $100 or so I spend on TurboTax each year is well worth - my ROI is at least 10-fold each year. Many thanks!!"

    Is this helpful?
  • MRBILL21 Oklahoma October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    • covered all the things i needed
    • problem correcting errors

    "Unable to fix error in time to file on time.
    Came back to fix errors the next day, now it worked, but a day late. Don't understand what the problem was."

    Is this helpful?
  • Dinkyboy October 16, 2012
    Report as Inappropriate

    Sharing me e-mail address

    • None
    • None

    "I was appauled that when I attempted to file last night, on the deadline, and had complicatons with my credit card. Those being resolved I completed payment today only to find out that they had closed e-filing!! Why did I even bother paying $90. Then to add insult to injury, I found 35 spam e-mails today and they could have only come from Intuit selling my e-mail address since that was the only website I've visited."

    Is this helpful?
  • mrwhitaker Helena, MT October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Love it

    • Historical feature
    • Price

    "I have a couple of small home based businesses and a rental. I don't mind business expense, but there is no place to capture the cost of filing with TurboTax...why isn't that an added feature...?

    This filing allowed me to pay for efiling - that was rejected. I would like a refund for that amount"

    Is this helpful?
  • applewest Howard City, Michigan October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Prepared by a friend or family member
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    IRS refused return

    • Like the way it cover all areas
    • in final phase difficulty

    "I was very frustrated in trying to correct one mistake so IRS could accept return to no avail. After making sure all areas were correct, still having problem getting
    E-file to work. Now im going to print and mail."

    Is this helpful?
  • JayRU Lake Charlevoix, Michigan October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Great Tax Tool

    • Easy to use
    • No planning tool for next year

    "Great tool for doing your taxes."

    Is this helpful?
  • Taxman21 Austin, TX October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used other tax software
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Great Product

    • Easy to use and very complete (Deluxe Version)
    • None

    "I switched from H & R Blocks's At Home software for the 2011 tax year. While the At Home software was good, I like the way this one works a lot better.

    Very clear explanations are just a click away and it's very intuitive - an important consideration when filing your taxes.

    I'll be using TurboTax from now on."

    Is this helpful?
  • CuriousCrow Baltimore, MD October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • GinaH2011 California October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
      • My job status changed this year
    Report as Inappropriate

    2011 past on to 2012

    • Can see and understand what affects my taxes so I can better plan spending (ie. investments, contributions, etc.)
    • I miss the statistical information Turbo Tax provided as part of the return review.

    "Turbo tax software is a great product because you can see how you are taxed, what are allowed deductions, and what is adjusted taxable income. This is good information to have in financial planning, invaluable.
    In regards to the online turbo tax product, I used last year, the program was not very user friendly, will continue to purchase the software. I would like to see Turbo add back the comparative information of how our return compares to the rest of the filers. Could this be brought back?"

    Is this helpful?