Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax

Average Customer Rating 4.4 out of 5
TurboTax is the #1-rated, best-selling tax software. All of our products make it easy to get your maximum refund-guaranteed. Chances are, you have friends who used TurboTax. See what they really think and pick the version that's best for you.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Rating (250698 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • mvfg California October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used a tax preparation service
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
    Report as Inappropriate

    Thanks Turbo Tax

    • Everything about Turbo Tax is incredibly user friendly

    "I've been using Turbo Tax for years and have probably saved ten thousand dollars from not hiring someone to do my taxes. TT helps me to organize all of my documents for filing and advises me about ways to save and gives me a heads up if it looks like I might be audited based on any of my category entries. Its one of the best business investments I've ever made."

    Is this helpful?
  • 666666666 laguna beach ca October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    disgusted

    "you would not accept my credit card yesterday and when i called you were closed.
    NOW e filing is closed.I could of mailed my return yesterday and not been late.

    Tell me why you would not accept any of my credit cards??????????????????????????????????????"

    Is this helpful?
  • Floweropening Irvine, CA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Tax easier

    "I like the new & more advanced Turbo Tax. It makes doing Tax Return easier."

    Is this helpful?
  • TerriLee Anchorage, AK October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Thank you

    • Detailed questions
    • The "Continue" button - too low on page when the text didn't go that far down.

    "Glad I used it. Will use it again."

    Is this helpful?
  • Accounting Orange County, CA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Beware!

    • Basic calculator and cute icons
    • Major glitches!

    "Turbo Tax has become a cash cow for Intuit. Prompting for upgrades at many pages and lack of carry forward from previous years which used to be included.
    But the worst was a glitch that prevented me from accessing the state return and therefore I had to fill it out the old fashioned way with pen and paper. Thanks for hours of aggrevation and frustration Turbo Tax.
    I've been using it for 5 years in a row, this was my last year. Enough is enough."

    Is this helpful?
  • CindyA Eastsound WA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Glad I am using Turbo Tax

    • Not having to use an accountant and can do from home
    • Sometimes it is tedience and I don't know how to correct a problem when the program won't let me continue.

    "I was in a situation where I did not want to use my vehicle for an employee expense related input. The program would not let me continue until I put my vehicle info and the other inputs. I finally went thru the process and the error finally was eliminated. This has happen before when I was finished with the return and checking for errors. The program would come up with a error and I could not proceed and get my return completed. That has been exasperating. Another thing is sometimes when I say to update, it is like I have to start all over again in the update a section when I only wanted to proof what I put in the input. I have to check and make sure the check marks have not been erased when I say update. I have to be careful that the previous input is still there and that I don't have to start over. Even with all this, I am still appreciative of the program because I was having to get all the tax info for an accountant who would charge me $1,000 + to process my return."

    Is this helpful?
  • DAWinFlorida Coconut Creek, FL October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I moved
    Report as Inappropriate

    Done!

    • Guidance through each step
    • Would like to see the complete form when "errors" are found.

    "Overall good."

    Is this helpful?
  • DavidZX DC October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    • fills in and calculates
    • windows keyboard shortcuts don't work; too many ads

    "even after I filled it in once, it kept asking me to tell more each time I loaded the program, and I had to click more than twice to get out of it. Too many "improvements" where you have to re-learn the program every year."

    Is this helpful?
  • dolphins103 Florida October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Easy

    • Lots of helpful hints and calculates for you
    • the ponzi scheme lost was not included

    "It might be nice to have a log on the side to show where you are in the process. I got a little confused when I had to go to the different categories on the top of the page and I didn't know how far along I was. but"

    Is this helpful?
  • Shagoxo Virginia October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    Report as Inappropriate

    Income in Respect of a Decedent Deduction

    • Generrally suitable for generic tax returns.
    • Sometimes you know what you want to do but need to spend a lot of time figuring out how to make TT do it.

    "I was unable to enter my Income in Respect of a Decedent (IRD) deduction using the step-by-step method despite finding a help screen that indicated I was in the correct place. Nor was I able to enter it directly into Schedule A line 26 where it belonged using the forms view because the Turbox Tax worksheet for that line forced the completion of a K-1 which I do not have. Ultimately I entered it in Schedule A, line 33 "Other", which although incorrect, will not result in a change to my taxes if audited.

    The step by step method for 1099-B Proceeds is very cumbersome and time consuming. Using the Capital Gains Speed Entry Worksheet in the forms view expedites the process but there is clearly room for improvement. If it was modeled after an Excel spreadsheet it would have been much easier."

    Is this helpful?