Friends like you like TurboTax

TurboTax Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax

Average Customer Rating 4.4 out of 5
TurboTax is the #1-rated, best-selling tax software. All of our products make it easy to get your maximum refund-guaranteed. Chances are, you have friends who used TurboTax. See what they really think and pick the version that's best for you.
See what people just like you are saying about TurboTax Rating (250698 customer reviews) Connect & See reviews from friends
Learn More

Reviews: Select the following 2 convenient ways to find the comments that are most relevant to you.

Showing reviews from everyone
  • JayRU Lake Charlevoix, Michigan October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Great Tax Tool

    • Easy to use
    • No planning tool for next year

    "Great tool for doing your taxes."

    Is this helpful?
  • Taxman21 Austin, TX October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used other tax software
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Great Product

    • Easy to use and very complete (Deluxe Version)
    • None

    "I switched from H & R Blocks's At Home software for the 2011 tax year. While the At Home software was good, I like the way this one works a lot better.

    Very clear explanations are just a click away and it's very intuitive - an important consideration when filing your taxes.

    I'll be using TurboTax from now on."

    Is this helpful?
  • CuriousCrow Baltimore, MD October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
      • I rent my home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    "This customer did not provide a text review."

    Is this helpful?
  • GinaH2011 California October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
      • My job status changed this year
    Report as Inappropriate

    2011 past on to 2012

    • Can see and understand what affects my taxes so I can better plan spending (ie. investments, contributions, etc.)
    • I miss the statistical information Turbo Tax provided as part of the return review.

    "Turbo tax software is a great product because you can see how you are taxed, what are allowed deductions, and what is adjusted taxable income. This is good information to have in financial planning, invaluable.
    In regards to the online turbo tax product, I used last year, the program was not very user friendly, will continue to purchase the software. I would like to see Turbo add back the comparative information of how our return compares to the rest of the filers. Could this be brought back?"

    Is this helpful?
  • mvfg California October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used a tax preparation service
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm single
    Report as Inappropriate

    Thanks Turbo Tax

    • Everything about Turbo Tax is incredibly user friendly

    "I've been using Turbo Tax for years and have probably saved ten thousand dollars from not hiring someone to do my taxes. TT helps me to organize all of my documents for filing and advises me about ways to save and gives me a heads up if it looks like I might be audited based on any of my category entries. Its one of the best business investments I've ever made."

    Is this helpful?
  • 666666666 laguna beach ca October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    disgusted

    "you would not accept my credit card yesterday and when i called you were closed.
    NOW e filing is closed.I could of mailed my return yesterday and not been late.

    Tell me why you would not accept any of my credit cards??????????????????????????????????????"

    Is this helpful?
  • Floweropening Irvine, CA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I own my own business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Tax easier

    "I like the new & more advanced Turbo Tax. It makes doing Tax Return easier."

    Is this helpful?
  • TerriLee Anchorage, AK October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    Report as Inappropriate

    Thank you

    • Detailed questions
    • The "Continue" button - too low on page when the text didn't go that far down.

    "Glad I used it. Will use it again."

    Is this helpful?
  • Accounting Orange County, CA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Used TurboTax
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I don't have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Beware!

    • Basic calculator and cute icons
    • Major glitches!

    "Turbo Tax has become a cash cow for Intuit. Prompting for upgrades at many pages and lack of carry forward from previous years which used to be included.
    But the worst was a glitch that prevented me from accessing the state return and therefore I had to fill it out the old fashioned way with pen and paper. Thanks for hours of aggrevation and frustration Turbo Tax.
    I've been using it for 5 years in a row, this was my last year. Enough is enough."

    Is this helpful?
  • CindyA Eastsound WA October 16, 2012
    • Prior Tax Prep Method Prior Tax Prep Method:
      • Went to a tax professional/CPA/Accountant
    • Family Life Family Life:
      • I'm married
      • I own my own home
      • I have kids
      • I don't own a business
      • I'm not a student
    • Life Changes Life Changes:
      • I bought or sold investments
    Report as Inappropriate

    Glad I am using Turbo Tax

    • Not having to use an accountant and can do from home
    • Sometimes it is tedience and I don't know how to correct a problem when the program won't let me continue.

    "I was in a situation where I did not want to use my vehicle for an employee expense related input. The program would not let me continue until I put my vehicle info and the other inputs. I finally went thru the process and the error finally was eliminated. This has happen before when I was finished with the return and checking for errors. The program would come up with a error and I could not proceed and get my return completed. That has been exasperating. Another thing is sometimes when I say to update, it is like I have to start all over again in the update a section when I only wanted to proof what I put in the input. I have to check and make sure the check marks have not been erased when I say update. I have to be careful that the previous input is still there and that I don't have to start over. Even with all this, I am still appreciative of the program because I was having to get all the tax info for an accountant who would charge me $1,000 + to process my return."

    Is this helpful?